Plan for Florida’s Recovery

Phase 1 of the Plan for Florida’s Recovery took effect May 4, 2020 and was updated May 11, 14 and 15, 2020.* 

Phase 2 of the Plan for Florida’s Recovery took effect June 5, 2020 for all Florida counties except Miami-Dade, Broward, and Palm Beach.** 

Local governments may adopt requirements directly on businesses, operations or venues, including buildings, beaches and parks, that may be stricter than the state. Report a business that violates these orders to local law enforcement.

*Governor DeSantis has added Miami-Dade and Broward counties to Phase 1 effective May 18 and added Palm Beach county to Phase 1 effective May 11, 2020. 

**In Miami-Dade, Broward and Palm Beach counties, the re-opening of business activity  will be considered after each county seeks approval with a written request from local officials.

 

 

IndividualsIndividuals over 65 or with underlying medical conditions are strongly encouraged to avoid crowds and take measures to limit the risk of exposure to COVID-19.

All individuals, when in public, should maintain at least six feet between themselves and others.

All persons in Florida are encouraged to avoid congregating in groups larger than 50.

Face masks are recommended for all those in face-to-face interactions and where you can’t social distance.

All persons who work in long-term care facilities should be tested for COVID19 on a routine basis.

Businesses and EmployersRestaurants may offer outdoor seating with six feet between tables and indoor seating at 50% building capacity, excluding employees.

Restaurants may allow bar-top seating with appropriate social distancing.

Bar areas may be open with seated service. In addition, outdoor seating is permissible with appropriate social distancing. This section does not apply to nightclubs.

On June 26, the Florida Dept. of Business and Professional Development (DBPR) ordered nightclubs and bars, that derive more than 50% of their income from alcohol, to suspend the sale of alcohol on-site due to an increase in COVID cases.

Retail stores may operate at full capacity with responsible social distancing and sanitization protocols.

Gyms and fitness centers may operate at full capacity with appropriate social distancing and frequent sanitization.

Personal care services such as beauty salons and barbershops , tattoo parlors, acupuncture establishments, tanning salons, and massage establishments reopen may operate while adhering to guidance from the Florida Department of Health. Resources for Best Practices for Personal Care Services and Frequently Asked Questions can be found here.

Entertainment businesses, including movie theaters, concert houses, auditoriums, playhouses, and bowling alleys and arcades may operate at 50 percent capacity.

Amusement parks must submit re-opening plans and must be endorsed by the local government in their jurisdiction.

Open businesses should follow appropriate social distancing and sanitation measures and limit groups to 10 people. See CDC guidance for more detail.

Face masks are recommended. See CDC guidance on face masks for customers, employees and employers.

Exceeding 50% of the maximum capacity allowed may mean a second-degree misdemeanor with a fine up to $500. Certain regulated businesses may face enforcement action for violations from their regulatory agency.


TravelersCurrently, the state of Florida has no travel restrictions in place.
Schools and ChildcareJuly 6, 2020: FDOE Order No. 2020-EO-06 – Reopening K-12 Schools

Approved k-12 District Re-Opening Plans - Please scroll down on linked page.
Nursing HomesOn Tuesday, September 1, 2020 at Governor DeSantis’ direction, Florida Division of Emergency Management Director and State Coordinating Officer Jared Moskowitz issued Emergency Order 20-009 that lifts restrictions for visitation to nursing homes, assisted living facilities (ALFs), adult family-care homes, adult group homes and other long-term care facilities.

Emergency Order 20-009 requires all visitors to wear PPE pursuant to the most recent CDC guidelines, and those not making physical contact still must wear a mask.
Community EventsAll persons are encouraged to avoid congregating in groups larger than 50 persons

Health Care ProvidersElective surgeries can resume and citizens are encouraged not to delay medical care which may put their health at risk, as there is ample capacity at health care facilities.

Medical services, including elective procedures, surgical centers, office surgery centers, dental offices, orthodontic offices, endodontic offices, and other health care practitioners' offices may fully re-open.

Hospitals are required to assist nursing homes and long-term care facilities in protecting the vulnerable. They must maintain adequate bed capacity and PPE. They must also have the capacity to immediately convert additional surgical and intensive care beds in a surge situation and must not have received or sought any additional federal, state, or local government assistance regarding PPE after resuming elective procedures.


Local GovernmentMuseums and libraries may open at full capacity if permitted by local governments.

As of June 5 (with exceptions in Miami-Dade, Broward, and Palm Beach counties), bars and restaurants may operate at 50 percent seating capacity inside and full capacity outside with appropriate social distancing. Patrons may only receive service if seated. Restaurants may allow bar-top seating.

As of June 5 (with exceptions in Miami-Dade, Broward, and Palm Beach counties), salons and barbershops may continue operating while adhering to safety protocols. For additional guidance, visit http://www.myfloridalicense.com/DBPR/os/documents/2020.05.09%20DBPR%20FAQs%20re%20Executive%20Order%2020-120.pdf

Yes. Beginning May 21, Florida State Parks began offering camping and in some cases cabins for our guests. Visitors should practice social distancing, expect limited hours and capacity.

For more information which Florida State Parks are open and closed, visit https://www.floridastateparks.org/learn/safety-updates

As of June 5 (with exceptions in Miami-Dade, Broward, and Palm Beach counties), gyms may operate at full capacity with appropriate social distancing and frequent sanitization.