Plan for Florida’s Recovery
Phase 1 of the Plan for Florida’s Recovery took effect May 4, 2020 and was updated effective May 11, 14 and 15, 2020.
Phase 2 will take effect once Gov. DeSantis determines it is suitable to continue re-opening and after fully considering medical data in consultation with state health officials.
Local governments may adopt requirements directly on businesses, operations or venues, including buildings, beaches and parks, that may be stricter than the state. Report a business that violates these orders to local law enforcement.
Note: Governor DeSantis has added Miami-Dade and Broward counties to Phase 1 effective May 18 and had added Palm Beach county to Phase 1 effective May 11, 2020.
|Individuals||Stay at home unless you’re going out for essential activities like grocery shopping, exercise, healthcare, religious worship, and caregiving. You may travel for work if you’re employed by an essential service or businesses that re-open at 25% building occupancy.
Senior citizens and individuals with significant medical conditions may leave their homes to go to the grocery store or pharmacy, go for a walk, or go to work. They should avoid close contact with people outside the home.
All individuals, when in public, should maximize physical distance from others.
Avoid socializing in groups of more than 10 people in circumstances that do not readily allow for physical distancing.
Face masks are recommended for all those in face-to-face interactions and where you can’t social distance.
|Businesses and Employers||All businesses are encouraged to provide delivery or pickup and to take orders online or by phone.
Restaurants may offer outdoor seating with six feet between tables and indoor seating at 50% building capacity.
On-site retail businesses may operate at 50% building capacity.
Gyms may reopen with sanitization procedures in place beginning May 18.
Personal care services like barbershops and hair salons may reopen with specific standards required with limitations beginning May 11, 2020.
Movie theaters remain closed but drive-ins are permitted.
Amusement parks must submit re-open plans and must be endorsed by the local government in their jurisdiction.
Open businesses should follow appropriate social distancing and sanitation measures and limit groups to 10 people. See CDC guidance for more detail.
Face masks are not required. See CDC guidance on face masks for customers, employees and employers.
Exceeding 50% of the maximum capacity allowed may mean a second-degree misdemeanor with a fine up to $500. Certain regulated businesses may face enforcement action for violations from their regulatory agency.
Bars and nightclubs must remain closed.
|Travelers||Everyone entering Florida from the New York Tri-State Area (Connecticut, New Jersey, and New York) and Louisiana must isolate or quarantine for a period of 14 days from the time of entry or the duration of the presence in Florida, whichever is shorter. People employed by the airlines and those performing military, emergency, health, infrastructure or commercial-related activity are exempt.
For Short-Term Vacation Rentals, each Florida locality shall submit a plan to the state detailing plans for vacation rentals to operate safely within their area.
|Schools and Childcare||Schools remain distance learning.
Childcare centers that are currently open may stay open.
Summer camps may operate.
|Nursing Homes||Visits to senior living facilities are prohibited.
|Community Events||Sporting venues may operate but without spectators.
Churches, synagogues, or other houses of worship may hold services, though local orders may restrict gatherings. See CDC guidance for faith organizations.
Restrictions on beaches are set by local governments.
Many state parks have reopened. Visitors should expect limited hours, capacity and amenities and adherence to social distancing requirements.
|Health Care Providers||Elective surgeries can resume and citizens are encouraged not to delay medical care which may put their health at risk, as there is ample capacity at health care facilities.
Medical services, including elective procedures, surgical centers, office surgery centers, dental offices, orthodontic offices, endodontic office and other health care practitioners' offices may fully re-open.
Hospitals are required to assist nursing homes and long-term care facilities in protecting the vulnerable. They must maintain adequate bed capacity and PPE. They must also have the capacity to immediately convert additional surgical and intensive care beds in a surge situation and must not have received or sought any additional federal, state or local government assistance regarding PPE after resuming elective procedures.
|Local Government||Museums and libraries may open at 50% building capacity as long as their local government allows. Interactive shared exhibits, like child play areas, remain closed.|
Pursuant to Executive Order 20-123, effective May 18, licensed restaurants and food establishments in all Florida counties may allow on-premises consumption of food and beverage so long as they adopt appropriate social distancing measures and limit their indoor occupancy to no more than 50 percent of their building occupancy. In addition, outdoor seating is permissible with appropriate social distancing of a minimum of 6 feet between parties, only seating parties of 10 or fewer people and keeping bar counters closed to seating.
Holders of state-issued barber or cosmetology licenses may provide services at establishments that adopt appropriate social distancing and precautionary measures, as directed in Executive Order 20-120, except holders of a barbering or cosmetology license located in Broward or Miami-Dade are not authorized to provide services until May 18th (EO 20-122).
Barbershops and salons must manage capacity of the premises based on an appointment-only schedule and must allow at least 15 minutes between the conclusion of an appointment and the beginning of the next appointment for proper disinfecting practices. A mask must be worn by an employee while providing personal services in the barbershop or salon.
Many Florida beaches are open, but with restricted hours and limitations on certain activities.
• List of county by county beach closures: https://www.visitflorida.com/en-us/currenttravel-safety-information.html
• Marinas and boat ramps are on a county by county basis, must confirm with each individual county.
People accessing open public beaches should follow CDC guidance by limiting their gatherings to no more than 10 people and distancing themselves from other parties by at least 6 feet.
Effective Monday, May 4, DEP has implemented phase one to reopen the Florida State Parks. As these parks are re-opening, DEP will be taking measures to ensure the protection of staff and the public. During this early phase of re-opening, visitors should expect limited hours, capacity and amenities. Portions of these parks and trails have been identified that can be reopened for day-use with limited risk to visitors and staff. To reduce risk, cash transactions are limited to exact change. Visit https://www.floridastateparks.org/learn/safety-updates for details on specific park openings
Pursuant to Executive Order 20-123, effective May 18, gyms and fitness centers that were previously closed by Executive Order can reopen, in all Florida counties They must limit capacity to no more than 50 percent of building occupancy and must maintain appropriate social distancing and sanitizing protocols.
In-store retail sales establishments may open storefronts if they operate at no more than 50 percent building occupancy. Museums and libraries may open at no more than 50 percent of their building occupancy. Note that local public museums and local public libraries may only operate if permitted by local government.